History of Photojournalism- Propaganda- Reflection.

Task: Find a major event E.g Protest/War. Look at a range of images aimed to steer mainstream in one direction.

Throughout the Lecture Mike expressed some idea’s we could of pursued. For Example the Ku Klux Klan.

“The Ku Klux Klan is a racist, anti-Semitic movement with a commitment to extreme violence to achieve its goals of racial segregation and white supremacy. Of all the types of right-wing hate groups that exist in the United States, the Klan remains the one with the greatest number of national and local organizations around the country.”- Quote from … http://www.adl.org/learn/ext_us/kkk/default.asp?LEARN_Cat=Extremism&LEARN_SubCat=Extremism_in_America&xpicked=4&item=kkk

The Klan have very recognizable image. The uniforms worn by members of the Klan were used on posters and mailings to spread the ideologies of the whites of America. – Relating to the task “steer a mainstream”. This then gave me an idea. I instantly thought of my AS and A level History class. As I learned about Civil Rights and Nazi Germany- Which both could have been used for my topic based around Propaganda.

This was when my lessons started coming back to me and as A level was more recent I chose to cover the propaganda used in Hitlers Nazi Germany. I loved learning about this in A level and found it very fascinating and would like to share it as I do have a lot of knowledge based around this so i didn’t need to research that much. Hitlers rise to power was aided heavily by propaganda therefore perfect for this topic.
I really enjoyed writing up for this topic as I felt very comfortable and confident with what I was writing as would anyone writing about what they know. My only concern was that Nazi propaganda may have been a very popular topic so I wanted mine to stand out. I loved writing about the control Hitler had over the population, how they had to address him as the Führer, and how he dominated the Third Reich all to win his election campaigns.  I did do a small amount of research as I wanted to find a quote from Adolf Hitlers propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels- Which I managed to find.

“The essence of Propaganda consists of winning people over to an idea so sincerely, so vitally that in the end they succumb to it utterly and can never escape from it!” – Joseph Goebbels

“People can be lead like sheep”- Adolf Hitler – “Nazi Propaganda and the Second World War” by Aristotle A. Kallis

goebbels-heirarchy

Another aspect of this task i enjoyed was searching for a range of propaganda images that linked to my work. I searched and found a very good Tumblr website with a lot of propaganda  on it. The only major implication that I found was all of the posters were in German- Obviously. Using Google translate was a pain as some of the words on the propaganda posters were hard to decipher, resulting me not being able to translate perfectly.

Leave a Reply

