Introduction to Digital Journalism- Pussy Riot, Defendant Freed- Reflection

The task set by Karl is similar to the ones he has previously set. It was a task to create a short article based around a chosen recent in the news topic. I chose Pussy Riot, A defendant freed. My reasoning for this is because I didn’t really know anything about them at all and I really wanted to push myself into not picking the easy choice I wanted to do some in depth research to help me face not only easy tasks but tasks that I may be in the dark about.

I researched for some background information at first I wanted to know what ‘Pussy Riot’ was as the associations of the title aren’t very pleasant and I was intrigued. I looked onto the BBC website to see if their journalists had covered the case and they had. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-19893008
http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/country,,RFERL,,RUS,,5089071219,0.html

I researched deeper to see why they had been charged and arrested previously and to get more in depth information. Amnesty.org had a short article about ‘Pussy Riot’ and ways for the public to support them.  http://action.amnesty.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1194&ea.campaign.id=16482&gclid=CLf7muukibQCFe7MtAod83wACA

I also wanted to search for other multimedia to help me develop my article and found the following on youtube.

I did enjoy this task as I knew I had do do a lot of research to find secondary source material otherwise I wouldn’t be able to produce a good article. I didn’t really come into any implications apart from the obvious not wanting to copy other publications and trying to make the article my own- I did use some quotes from the BBC but did reference them.

Leave a Reply

